Browse By Author

Author List

Share This Title

Send this product to a friend

MUP Catalogs

Repeat the Sounding Joy: Reflections on Hymns by Isaac Watts

By author: David W. Music
Product Code: HH1000
ISBN: 9780881467697
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Availability: In stock
Price: $35.00

Isaac Watts is universally recognized as one of the greatest English-language hymn writers of the eighteenth century, the "Golden Age of English Hymnody." Watts almost singlehandedly broke the monopoly of metrical psalm singing and practically invented the hymn form as it is known today. Some of his texts are among the most familiar hymns in Christendom, including "When I Survey the Wondrous Cross" and "Joy to the World." This book begins with an introduction describing Watts's work and its importance, followed by chapters on each of his twenty-five most widely sung texts. Each hymn is presented in its full original form, with reflections and commentaries that are partly historical, partly analytical, and partly devotional. Particular attention is given to the meanings of the words as they were used by Watts, the scriptural backgrounds of the texts, and their relationship to other writings by the English author.
Bookmark and Share

Goodreads reviews