Search

Browse By Author

Author List

MUP Catalogs

MUP Book Awards

MUP Book Awards

Become a Donor

Become a Donor
Displaying 205 - 216 of 222 results
 
 
Weathering: Poems and Recollections
By author: David Havird
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P600
ISBN: 9780881467345
Availability: In stock
Price: $20.00
In WEATHERING: POEMS AND RECOLLECTIONS an aging poet greets a "phalanx" of memories and finds himself amid "an epic transmigration of echoes." At the heart of this collection of poetry and prose are three retrospective essays that narrate the adolescent poet's coming of age through encounters with such eminent elders as James Dickey, who was Havird's early mentor, Robert Lowell, and Archibald MacLeish. These prose memoirs also explore this poet's ambivalent relation to his native South and reveal the emergent cosmopolitan stance of his mature poetry.

Whaddaya Got, Loran? Dispatches from Georgia
By author: Loran Smith
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: HH1013
ISBN: 9780881467970
Availability: In stock
Price: $25.00
Most Georgians know Loran Smith from Saturday afternoons and Georgia Bulldog football. Larry Munson would oftentimes say after a play, "Whaddaya got, Loran?" His colorful responses and chemistry with Munson made listening to the game an absolute joy. But, for decades Loran Smith has also either written or spoken about the things that interest us. Finally, in this book, Smith gathers his best columns and moments covering topics in four areas: Georgia, sports, travel, and the Greatest Generation.

What Will You Do For An Encore? and Other Stories
By author: Robert Drake
Product Code: P147
ISBN: 9780865545236
Product Format: Paperback
Availability: Not currently available. (Backorder policy)
Price: $19.95

When Fiction and Philosophy Meet: A Conversation with Flannery O’Connor and Simone Weil
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H971
ISBN: 9780881466966
Availability: In stock
Price: $35.00
An innovative book, WHEN FICTION AND PHILOSOPHY MEET explores the intersection between the philosophy of Simone Weil from Paris, France, and the fiction of Flannery O’Connor from the Southern state of Georgia, USA. In an era of war, of unprecedented human displacements, and of ethnic, racial, and religious fears the ideas of these two intellectuals bear on our present condition.

When In the Course of Human Events: 1776 at Home, Abroad, and in American Memory
Edited by: Will R. Jordan
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P568
ISBN: 9780881466607
Availability: In stock
Price: $24.00
WHEN IN THE COURSE OF HUMAN EVENTS includes eight essays that were first presented at the 2016 A.V. Elliott Conference on Great Books and Ideas, the ninth annual conference sponsored by Mercer University's Thomas C. and Ramona E. McDonald Center for America's Founding Principles. 1776 was a momentous year. Contributors include W.B. Allen, Jane E. Calvert, Adam Potkay, Dennis C. Rasmussen, James H. Read, Diana Schaub, Scott Philip Segrest, and Brian Steele.

Where the Souls Go
By author: Ann Hite
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P513
ISBN: 9780881465389
Availability: In stock
Price: $17.00
WHERE THE SOULS GO is Ann Hite’s third novel set in Black Mountain, North Carolina. Readers who loved GHOST ON BLACK MOUNTAIN, Hite’s first novel, will find many of the characters familiar. This book follows three generations of the Pritchard family, not only telling the story of how Hobbs Pritchard became the villain of Black Mountain, but highlighting women’s struggles in Appalachia, beginning in the Depression Era and ending in the mid-sixties.

Where You Come from Is Gone: Poems
By author: Annie Woodford
Product Code: P648
ISBN: 9780881468540
Availability: Not currently available. (Backorder policy)
Price: $17.00
WHERE YOU COME FROM IS GONE examines the economic and racial violence of rural America, where whiteness is a fraught and often dysfunctional identity. It is a poetic attempt at a "blues line" or a bluegrass "breakdown" to embody a lush, dangerous, and often damaged American landscape as well as the resilience of the human spirit in the face of blunt labor and white supremacy.

Whiskey Before Breakfast: A Novel
By author: Benjy Griffith
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H766
ISBN: 9780881461237
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: Not currently available. (Backorder policy)
Price: $24.95
A Southern page-turner, told with humor and an uncanny ear for the Southern idiom. It presents a motley cast of Middle Georgia originals caught up in the struggles of the Great Depression. Thirteen-year-old Newt and his friend Jefferson, will remind some readers of Huck Finn and Jim. Newt's father decides to move into rival territory with his moonshine business, sending Jefferson, an alcoholic who will work for whiskey, along with Newt, who will sell the moonshine and protect the money. But this story is one that will linger with the reader long after the final pages.

Whose Woods These Are
By author: John Lane
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H993
ISBN: 9780881467611
Availability: In stock
Price: $24.00
WHOSE WOODS THESE ARE takes place on Thanksgiving Day in a deep river bottom in a mythical Piedmont county, Morgan, South Carolina, a creation carried over from John Lane's first novel, the award-winning FATE MORELAND'S WIDOW. The story is told in four perspectives on the possible death and certain disappearance of Old Doc, an 85-year-old land owner/deer hunter and centers on a contested property boundary shared with the resident Mitchell family who have lived on the land since colonial times.

Why Kierkegaard Matters: A Festschrift in Honor of Robert L. Perkins
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H811
ISBN: 9780881462128
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: In stock
Price: $45.00
Monographs on philosophers multiply daily but on occasion we must ask the question of why a particular philosopher matters. When Mercer University Press opened its doors more than thirty years ago, it committed itself to religious studies in general, and to several thinkers. One of those was Søren Kierkegaard. Now, as the Press concludes a major publishing event with the completion of the International Kierkegaard Commentary, it seeks to honor the only series editor it has known: Robert Perkins.

William Faulkner and the Rites of Passage
Product Code: H378
ISBN: 9780865544826
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: Not currently available. (Backorder policy)
Price: $35.00

Wingless Chickens, Bayou Catholics, and Pilgrim Wayfarers: Constructions of Audience and Tone in O’Connor, Gautreaux, and Percy
By author: L. Lamar Nisly
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H813
ISBN: 9780881462142
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: In stock
Price: $35.00
Flannery O’Connor, Tim Gautreaux, and Walker Percy, are all Catholic writers from the South—and seem to embody very fully both parts of that label. Yet as quickly becomes clear in their writing, their fiction employs markedly different tones and modes of addressing their audience. Why do texts by three writers who each embrace their Southern locale and their Catholic beliefs seem to have so little in common? Nisly helps readers understand these authors’ fiction by examining the role that place and time had in shaping each author’s idea of an audience—and, by extension, his or her manner of addressing that audience.