Search

Browse By Author

Author List

MUP Catalogs

MUP Book Awards

MUP Book Awards

Become a Donor

Become a Donor
Displaying 205 - 216 of 217 results
 
 
When In the Course of Human Events: 1776 at Home, Abroad, and in American Memory
Edited by: Will R. Jordan
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P568
ISBN: 9780881466607
Availability: In stock
Price: $24.00
WHEN IN THE COURSE OF HUMAN EVENTS includes eight essays that were first presented at the 2016 A.V. Elliott Conference on Great Books and Ideas, the ninth annual conference sponsored by Mercer University's Thomas C. and Ramona E. McDonald Center for America's Founding Principles. 1776 was a momentous year. Contributors include W.B. Allen, Jane E. Calvert, Adam Potkay, Dennis C. Rasmussen, James H. Read, Diana Schaub, Scott Philip Segrest, and Brian Steele.

Where the Souls Go
By author: Ann Hite
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P513
ISBN: 9780881465389
Availability: In stock
Price: $17.00
WHERE THE SOULS GO is Ann Hite’s third novel set in Black Mountain, North Carolina. Readers who loved GHOST ON BLACK MOUNTAIN, Hite’s first novel, will find many of the characters familiar. This book follows three generations of the Pritchard family, not only telling the story of how Hobbs Pritchard became the villain of Black Mountain, but highlighting women’s struggles in Appalachia, beginning in the Depression Era and ending in the mid-sixties.

Where You Come from Is Gone: Poems
By author: Annie Woodford
Product Code: P648
ISBN: 9780881468540
Availability: Not currently available. (Backorder policy)
Price: $17.00
WHERE YOU COME FROM IS GONE examines the economic and racial violence of rural America, where whiteness is a fraught and often dysfunctional identity. It is a poetic attempt at a "blues line" or a bluegrass "breakdown" to embody a lush, dangerous, and often damaged American landscape as well as the resilience of the human spirit in the face of blunt labor and white supremacy.

Whiskey Before Breakfast: A Novel
By author: Benjy Griffith
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H766
ISBN: 9780881461237
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: Not currently available. (Backorder policy)
Price: $24.95
A Southern page-turner, told with humor and an uncanny ear for the Southern idiom. It presents a motley cast of Middle Georgia originals caught up in the struggles of the Great Depression. Thirteen-year-old Newt and his friend Jefferson, will remind some readers of Huck Finn and Jim. Newt's father decides to move into rival territory with his moonshine business, sending Jefferson, an alcoholic who will work for whiskey, along with Newt, who will sell the moonshine and protect the money. But this story is one that will linger with the reader long after the final pages.

Whose Woods These Are
By author: John Lane
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H993
ISBN: 9780881467611
Availability: In stock
Price: $24.00
WHOSE WOODS THESE ARE takes place on Thanksgiving Day in a deep river bottom in a mythical Piedmont county, Morgan, South Carolina, a creation carried over from John Lane's first novel, the award-winning FATE MORELAND'S WIDOW. The story is told in four perspectives on the possible death and certain disappearance of Old Doc, an 85-year-old land owner/deer hunter and centers on a contested property boundary shared with the resident Mitchell family who have lived on the land since colonial times.

Why Kierkegaard Matters: A Festschrift in Honor of Robert L. Perkins
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H811
ISBN: 9780881462128
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: In stock
Price: $45.00
Monographs on philosophers multiply daily but on occasion we must ask the question of why a particular philosopher matters. When Mercer University Press opened its doors more than thirty years ago, it committed itself to religious studies in general, and to several thinkers. One of those was Søren Kierkegaard. Now, as the Press concludes a major publishing event with the completion of the International Kierkegaard Commentary, it seeks to honor the only series editor it has known: Robert Perkins.

William Faulkner and the Rites of Passage
Product Code: H378
ISBN: 9780865544826
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: Not currently available. (Backorder policy)
Price: $35.00

Wingless Chickens, Bayou Catholics, and Pilgrim Wayfarers: Constructions of Audience and Tone in O’Connor, Gautreaux, and Percy
By author: L. Lamar Nisly
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H813
ISBN: 9780881462142
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: In stock
Price: $35.00
Flannery O’Connor, Tim Gautreaux, and Walker Percy, are all Catholic writers from the South—and seem to embody very fully both parts of that label. Yet as quickly becomes clear in their writing, their fiction employs markedly different tones and modes of addressing their audience. Why do texts by three writers who each embrace their Southern locale and their Catholic beliefs seem to have so little in common? Nisly helps readers understand these authors’ fiction by examining the role that place and time had in shaping each author’s idea of an audience—and, by extension, his or her manner of addressing that audience.

Wondering Toward Center
By author: Kathy A. Bradley
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P527
ISBN: 9780881465679
Availability: In stock
Price: $20.00
In her second book of essays, Kathy Bradley continues her examination of the natural world as a prism through which to understand the human experience. With her family farm in the coastal plains of South Georgia serving as the anchor, Bradley uses her observations of animal life, agriculture, and the seasons to create what others have called parables, but what she calls “a map key or decoder ring” for some of the dilemmas of twenty-first-century life. The chronological stories, four years’ worth of tales that began life as newspaper columns, are inhabited by wild and unpredictable animals, civilized and unpredictable people, moons and cornfields, tides and floods and droughts—each described in sensory detail, each a metaphor rich in meaning. Bradley invites readers along on her wanderings in order that they might find their own meaning in the recounting of commonplace events and the lives of ordinary people.

Writing on Napkins at the Sunshine Club: An Anthology of Poets Writing in Macon
Edited by: Kevin Cantwell
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P432
ISBN: 9780881462517
Product Format: Paperback
Availability: In stock
Price: $27.00
Writing on Napkins at the Sunshine Club is a collection of poems written by some of Middle Georgia's most gifted poets. This charming collection exemplifies life in the South during the twentieth century. Including work by David Bottoms, Poet Laureate of Georgia, this book is one you'll want on your shelf.

You and I and Someone Else
By author: Anna Schachner
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P541
ISBN: 9780881465976
Availability: In stock
Price: $18.00
Frannie Lewis has a lot of bad history with men, starting with the first one she ever met. She’s watched her aloof father disappear in the summers to work with a traveling carnival, seen her mother grow ever more suspicious and resentful. All her life, Frannie has kept their secrets and told their stories. Now thirty-six, she remains a pawn in their longstanding marital chess game—and at this point, it has devolved into a grudge match. Even so, she longs to be a mother. Motherhood seems like a chance to reinvent what it means to be a family—to rectify her childhood, to start fresh. Still single, she isn’t sure if this will ever happen. When her father is diagnosed with cancer, she decides to have a baby on her own to encourage him to live and to please her mother, who still grieves over the baby she lost twenty-five years ago.

Your Autobiography
By author: Kelly Cherry
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P580
ISBN: 9780881467017
Availability: In stock
Price: $18.00
YOUR AUTOBIOGRAPHY takes on the large issues of war and espionage, ethics and theology, identity and family. Cherry’s poetry takes the reader on a journey of self-introspection and self-examination. Her words permeate a reader’s being in multiple ways both emotionally and intellectually.