Search


Refine Results

Expand Your Result

Narrow by Keyword

Displaying 13 - 24 of 32 results
1 2 3
Sort: 
 
Windows on the Past : The Cultural Heritage of Vardy, Hancock County Tennessee
By author: Overbay
Product Code: P299
ISBN: 9780865549500
Product Format: Paperback
Availability: In stock
Price: $25.00
Windows on the Past: The Cultural History of Vardy features oral histories and images of Melungeon life such as church gatherings and family activities by focusing on the Vardy Community School, a Presbyterian mission school, and the Vardy Community Church in and around Blackwater Creek, Newman’s Ridge, and Powell Mountain in Hancock County, Tennessee, and Lee County, Virginia.

How They Shine : Melungeon Characters in the Fiction of Appalachia
Product Code: P324
ISBN: 9780865549838
Product Format: Paperback
Availability: In stock
Price: $25.00
How They Shine is the first book of its kind—a book about books with Melungeon characters. Its clear, readable presentation invites scholarly attention from a variety of disciplines, lay readers, residents of Appalachia, and readers who love good books that ask an interesting question: “Why would someone choose to write about Melungeons?”

The Place Setting: Timeless Tastes of the Mountain South, from Bright Hope to Frog Level
By author: Fred W. Sauceman
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H710
ISBN: 9780865549906
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: Not currently available. (Backorder policy)
Price: $25.00
This book, the first of three volumes, chronicles a highly personal journey, with plenty of loafing stops along the way, through the hills and hollows of Southern Appalachia, in search of the tastes that define and sustain the region’s people. Join food writer Fred Sauceman as the sorghum syrup thickens in September, as the First Family of Country Music repeats the late summer ritual of making the vinegary, vegetable-packed relish called chow-chow in Virginia, and as ramps, audacious cousins to the green onion, first push through winter’s leaves on the forest floor near the Cherokee reservation in North Carolina. Learn pimento cheese techniques from octogenarian pharmacists, eat gas station pizza off a warm car hood, and revel in the simple but ingenious concoction called “Beans All the Way.”

The Place Setting : Timeless Tastes of the Mountain South, from Bright Hope to Frog Level: Second Serving
By author: Fred W. Sauceman
Product Code: H718
ISBN: 9780865549982
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: In stock
Price: $25.00
Popular food writer Fred Sauceman searched Southern Appalachia for the tastes that define and sustain the region's people. What he found will delight readers who join him on this journey. This second engaging collection of essays celebrates the dinners and diners of a region largely overlooked by the national food press.

Through the Back Door: Melungeon Literacies and Twenty-First Century Technologies
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P387
ISBN: 9780881461503
Product Format: Paperback
Availability: In stock
Price: $22.00
Just a century ago, while specialized practices such as farming, preserving food, hunting, gathering, and distilling ensured survival in the unforgiving mountain environment, most Melungeons could neither read nor write and refused to see those skills as part of a cultural imperative. In the twenty-first century, taking reading and writing for granted, Melungeon descendants are exploring their ethnic identity by creating websites and participating in listserv discussions.

Washed in the Blood
By author: Lisa Alther
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H832
ISBN: 9780881462579
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: In stock
Price: $26.00
This unique three-part novel assumes that, regardless of what Americans learn in school, the Southeast was not a barren wilderness when the English arrived at Jamestown. Based on extensive research into the racial mixing that occurred in the early years of southeastern settlement, this provocative multigenerational story shows that these people did not simply vanish. You will not be able to put this novel down without wondering, “Where will it take me next?”

Stormy Weather & Other Stories
By author: Lisa Alther
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H851
ISBN: 9780881463866
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: In stock
Price: $24.00
Stormy Weather & Other Stories is probably as close as Lisa Alther will ever come to writing an autobiography. These stories, written over the course of her career, are set in the three places that have meant the most to her—the Southern mountains, Vermont, and New York City. Most of these stories were published in journals or anthologies, though three are previously unpublished.

Stormy Weather & Other Stories
By author: Lisa Alther
Product Code: H851e
ISBN: 9780881463668
Product Format: Electronic book text
Availability: Not currently available. (Backorder policy)
Price: $12.00
Stormy Weather & Other Stories is probably as close as Lisa Alther will ever come to writing an autobiography. These stories, written over the course of her career, are set in the three places that have meant the most to her— the Southern mountains, Vermont, and New York City. Most of these stories were published in journals or anthologies, though three are previously unpublished.

Mother of Rain
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P469
ISBN: 9780881464481
Product Format: Paperback
Availability: In stock
Price: $17.00
“Maizee Hurd was an easy target for hard times,” according to Burdy Luttrell, the town healer. Burdy is a Melungeon woman with striking features and mysterious ways. She owns the land the Hurds leased following their marriage on June 3, 1940. Maizee moved upriver at the age of ten after tragedy struck, and she was sent off to be raised by a childless aunt and her doctor husband. Shortly after Maizee’s ferry boat arrival in the rural mountain community of Christian Bend—carrying only a small suitcase, her mama’s Bible, and her doll Hitty—the young girl began hearing the voices that would continue to torment her.

Buttermilk and Bible Burgers: More Stories from the Kitchens of Appalachia
By author: Fred W. Sauceman
Product Code: P481
ISBN: 9780881464795
Product Format: Paperback
Availability: In stock
Price: $21.00
In his latest collection of writings about the foodways of the Appalachian region, Fred W. Sauceman guides readers through country kitchens and church fellowship halls, across pasture fields and into smokehouses, down rows of vegetable gardens at the peak of the season and alongside ponds resonant with the sounds of a summer night. The scenes and subjects are oftentimes uniquely personal, and they combine to tell a love story, a chronicle of one person’s affection for a region and its people, its products, and its places. BUTTERMILK AND BIBLE BURGERS is most of all an expression of gratitude for the persistence of the people who feed us.

Conjuror
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P512
ISBN: 9780881465372
Availability: In stock
Price: $17.00
Within the tightly knit Cherokee community in the Smoky Mountains, a secret society of Snake Dancers is led by a group of elders, four of whom guard an artifact of incredible power. Guardianship has been passed from father to son for over 300 years. Theses artifacts belonged to Kanegwa’ti, a medicine man who controlled the power of Uktena (an evil spirit) in order to protect the tribe. Even the four guardians cannot reveal what they guard. The tradition of secrecy was set up by Kanegwa’ti to prevent anyone from awakening Uktena and bringing destruction.

Where the Souls Go
By author: Ann Hite
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P513
ISBN: 9780881465389
Availability: In stock
Price: $17.00
WHERE THE SOULS GO is Ann Hite’s third novel set in Black Mountain, North Carolina. Readers who loved GHOST ON BLACK MOUNTAIN, Hite’s first novel, will find many of the characters familiar. This book follows three generations of the Pritchard family, not only telling the story of how Hobbs Pritchard became the villain of Black Mountain, but highlighting women’s struggles in Appalachia, beginning in the Depression Era and ending in the mid-sixties.

1 2 3