

#### MERCER UNIVERSITY PRESS

## **BOOK AWARD WINNERS**

### The Ferrol Sams Award for Fiction



- 2010 Marly Youmans, A Death at the White Camellia Orphanage (Mar 2012)
- 2011 Raymond L. Atkins, Camp Redemption (Mar 2013)
- 2012 Stephen Roth, A Plot for Pridemore (May 2014)
- 2013 Dale Cramer, Kiss of the Jewel Bird (Mar 2015)
- 2014 Mary Anna Bryan, Cardinal Hill (Aug 2016)
- 2015 Ashley Mace Havird, Lightningstruck (Sept 2016)
- 2016 Andrew Plattner, Dixie Luck (Apr 2018)
- 2017 Linda D. Bledsoe, Through the Needle's Eye (2019)
- 2018 Kristine F. Anderson, The Crooked Truth (2020)
- 2019 No Award Given

## The Adrienne Bond Award for Poetry



- 2010 Seaborn Jones, Going Farther into the Woods than the Woods Go (Feb 2012)
- 2011 Kelly Whiddon, The House Began to Pitch (Oct 2012)
- 2012 Megan Sexton, Swift Hour (May 2014)
- 2013 Philip Lee Williams, The Color of All Things (Mar 2015)
- 2014 Lesley Dauer Carnival Life (June 2016)
- 2015 Katy Giebenhain Sharps Cabaret (May 2017)
- 2016 Sara Hughes The Disappearing Act (Mar 2018)
- 2017 Rod T. Smith Summoning Shades (2019)
- 2018 William Woolfitt Spring Up Everlasting (2020)
- 2019 Shuly Cawood Trouble Can Be So Beautiful at the Beginning (2021)

# The Will D. Campbell Award for Creative Nonfiction



- 2010 Kathy A. Bradley, Breathing and Walking Around (Jan 2012)
- 2012 Joseph Bathanti, Half of What I Say Is Meaningless (July 2014)
- 2014 Bill Merritt, Crackers (July 2016)
- 2015 Christopher Martin, This Gladdening Light (June 2017)
- 2011, 2013, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019 No Award Given



#### MERCER UNIVERSITY PRESS BOOK AWARDS

#### www.mupress.org

# Awards presented between the years 2010 – 2020

After much consideration, these three awards will be suspended at the completion of the 2020 award season. No submissions will be accepted after June 30, 2020.

## The Adrienne Bond Award for Poetry

The award is given to the best manuscript that exemplifies the poetic language and vision of the author.



Adrienne Bond (1933–1996) was a poet, fiction writer, scholar, and mentor to many writers. She attended Mercer University (BA, MFA) and Georgia State University (PhD). Bond taught English at Mercer from 1965 until her death in 1996. While living, she published *The Shape and Sound of Southern Poetry Today* (1989). Two books were published posthumously, *Time Was, She Declares: Selected Poems* (Mercer University Press, 1996) and *Sugarcane House and Other Stories about Mr. Fat* (1997).

## The Will D. Campbell Award for Creative Nonfiction

The award is given to the best manuscript that speaks to the human condition in a Southern context.

This category includes memoir, natural history, essays, and other genres of nonfiction.

(Note: Any fictionalized narrative or dialogue makes the work a work of fiction. This is strictly NONFICTION.)



Will D. Campbell (1924–2013) was born in Amite County, Mississippi. A graduate of Wake Forest College, Tulane University, and Yale Divinity School, Campbell was a pastor from 1952–1954. He left the local church pastorate to become pastor to the South through his activities in support of the Civil Rights Movement. His later activities included protesting the Vietnam War and opposition to the death penalty. His best known book is *Brother to a Dragonfly* (1977). Three of his books were published by Mercer University Press: *The Stem of Jesse* (1995), *Cecelia's Sin* (1983), and *The Convention* (2007, orig. 1988).

## The Ferrol Sams Award for Fiction

The award is given to the best manuscript that speaks to the human condition in a Southern context.

This category includes both novels and short stories.



**Ferrol Sams** (1922–2013) was born in Fayetteville, Georgia. He graduated from Mercer University (1942) and Emory University (MD 1949), and in between he served in the US Army Medical Corps in France. He was a physician in Fayetteville until his retirement in 2006. In 1984 he became known as the author of *Run with the Horseman* and went on to publish seven more novels and story collections. Two of his books were published by Mercer University Press: *Christmas Gift!* (2010) and *Down Town* (2007).

#### Awards presented between the years 2010 – 2020

After much consideration, these three awards will be suspended at the completion of the 2020 award season.

No submissions will be accepted after June 30, 2020.