Search

Browse By Author

Author List

MUP Catalogs

MUP Book Awards

MUP Book Awards

Become a Donor

Become a Donor
Displaying 61 - 66 of 66 results
 
 
1 2 3 4 5 6
Washed in the Blood
By author: Lisa Alther
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H832
ISBN: 9780881462579
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: In stock
Price: $26.00
This unique three-part novel assumes that, regardless of what Americans learn in school, the Southeast was not a barren wilderness when the English arrived at Jamestown. Based on extensive research into the racial mixing that occurred in the early years of southeastern settlement, this provocative multigenerational story shows that these people did not simply vanish. You will not be able to put this novel down without wondering, “Where will it take me next?”

What Will You Do For An Encore? and Other Stories
By author: Robert Drake
Product Code: P147
ISBN: 9780865545236
Product Format: Paperback
Availability: Not currently available. (Backorder policy)
Price: $19.95

Where the Souls Go
By author: Ann Hite
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P513
ISBN: 9780881465389
Availability: In stock
Price: $17.00
WHERE THE SOULS GO is Ann Hite’s third novel set in Black Mountain, North Carolina. Readers who loved GHOST ON BLACK MOUNTAIN, Hite’s first novel, will find many of the characters familiar. This book follows three generations of the Pritchard family, not only telling the story of how Hobbs Pritchard became the villain of Black Mountain, but highlighting women’s struggles in Appalachia, beginning in the Depression Era and ending in the mid-sixties.

Whiskey Before Breakfast: A Novel
By author: Benjy Griffith
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H766
ISBN: 9780881461237
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: In stock
Price: $24.95
A Southern page-turner, told with humor and an uncanny ear for the Southern idiom. It presents a motley cast of Middle Georgia originals caught up in the struggles of the Great Depression. Thirteen-year-old Newt and his friend Jefferson, will remind some readers of Huck Finn and Jim. Newt's father decides to move into rival territory with his moonshine business, sending Jefferson, an alcoholic who will work for whiskey, along with Newt, who will sell the moonshine and protect the money. But this story is one that will linger with the reader long after the final pages.

You and I and Someone Else
By author: Anna Schachner
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P541
ISBN: 9780881465976
Availability: In stock
Price: $18.00
Frannie Lewis has a lot of bad history with men, starting with the first one she ever met. She’s watched her aloof father disappear in the summers to work with a traveling carnival, seen her mother grow ever more suspicious and resentful. All her life, Frannie has kept their secrets and told their stories. Now thirty-six, she remains a pawn in their longstanding marital chess game—and at this point, it has devolved into a grudge match. Even so, she longs to be a mother. Motherhood seems like a chance to reinvent what it means to be a family—to rectify her childhood, to start fresh. Still single, she isn’t sure if this will ever happen. When her father is diagnosed with cancer, she decides to have a baby on her own to encourage him to live and to please her mother, who still grieves over the baby she lost twenty-five years ago.

Zambian Text : Stories from Ngambe Mission
By author: Morris Smith
Product Code: H690
ISBN: 9780865549708
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: Not currently available. (Backorder policy)
Price: $22.00
Stories set around Ngambe Hospital Mission on the Zambezi River in the 1990s. The missionaries that visit and work in this place often are changed more than they change others, and in the process, they find something of their own self.

1 2 3 4 5 6