Search

Browse By Author

Author List

MUP Catalogs

MUP Book Awards

MUP Book Awards

Become a Donor

Become a Donor
Displaying 49 - 60 of 60 results
 
 
1 2 3 4 5
The King Who Made Paper Flowers
By author: Terry Kay
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H913
ISBN: 9780881465662
Availability: Not currently available. (Backorder policy)
Price: $24.00
When Arthur Benjamin steps from a Greyhound bus in Savannah, Georgia, he is immediately robbed by an affable street magician named Hamby Cahill. It is Hamby’s first act of thievery and the remorse of it so overwhelms him that he finds lodging for Arthur in The Castle, a warehouse supposedly owned by Melinda McFadden, an eccentric and fragile grande dame of imagined aristocracy who is known as Lady to the strange assembly of street people she has arbitrarily selected to be her Guests. There, Arthur finds his family—an ex-con shoplifter, a disgruntled seamstress, a young artist suspected of being a hooker, and a former boxer known as Lightning. For Arthur, it is the company that will change his life, as he, in turn, will change the lives of everyone he encounters.

The Life and Letters of Emily Chubbuck Judson: Volume 7, 1826–1854 The Collected Poetry and Fiction
Edited by: George H. Tooze
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H872
ISBN: 9780881464412
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: In stock
Price: $60.00
Volume 7 begins with a poem written when Emily was nine years old (1826) and ends with “My Angel Guide,” written in 1853 prior to her death in June 1854. Between are several hundred of her poems, many of them newly discovered in the papers of her great-grandson, Dr. Stanley Hanna. This is all of her poetry published and unpublished as we know it. Also included are twenty fictional pieces from the magazines that are not included in her several published anthologies. The seven-volume series of The Life and Letters of Emily Chubbuck Judson (Fanny Forester) is published in cooperation with the American Baptist Historical Society.

The Poisoned Table
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P517
ISBN: 9780881465464
Availability: In stock
Price: $18.00
Based on the writings of renowned British actress, Fanny Kemble, and her life in 19th-century England and the American South. THE POISONED TABLE portrays a passionate rivalry between fictional actress Isabel Graves and real-life Shakespearian stage sensation Frances Anne “Fanny” Kemble. In this tale of ambition, romance, and betrayal, Graves harbors early resentment, convinced that Kemble’s family theatre connections assured Fanny’s selection for the lead role in Romeo and Juliet despite Isabel’s superior beauty and talent. The novel traces their unconnected adventures and acting careers in the Old and New Worlds, as well as their introduction to the horrors of American slavery and to romance with one of the wealthiest men in America, Pierce Butler, owner of Georgia cotton and rice plantations and master of more than 800 slaves.

The Seventh Mirror
By author: Terry Kay, Terry Kay
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H874
ISBN: 9780881464528
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: In stock
Price: $16.00
Like his father and grandfather before him, Fergus Greybar the Fourth travels the countryside in a wagon of carnival mirrors, pulled by two magnificent white horses named Look and See. As the Mirror Man, he is welcomed everywhere by children who find delight in seeing themselves take on strange and funny shapes when looking into the six mirrors that line the inside of his wagon. But there is another mirror, one of great magic—the Seventh Mirror. In it, children see themselves not as they are, but as they wish to be. It is the magic of the Seventh Mirror that the Mirror Man uses to return a young runaway girl named Sarah to her village of Whistletown. There, a frantic and comic search for her is taking place, involving everyone from the mayor and the police chief and the town poet to a cunning seasick pirate named Jake the Hunter and his fierce-looking dog Sniffer. They all play a major role in Sarah’s revealing discovery of the meaning of home. But Sarah is not the only person to find herself in the hidden magic of the Seventh Mirror. So does the Mirror Man.

Through the Needle’s Eye
By author: Linda Bledsoe
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P581
ISBN: 9780881467024
Availability: In stock
Price: $17.00
THROUGH THE NEEDLE'S EYE is told through the authentic voice of Jessie, a precocious girl raised in the Blue Ridge Foothills of Southern Appalachia after World War II. Saddled with an alcoholic narcissistic father and a passive mother, Jessie is charged with mothering her siblings as generational curses and poverty never cease to overwhelm her family. As providence would have it, Granny Isabelle sets her eagle eye upon Jessie, the child neither parents nor teachers think worthwhile.

Touch the Earth : An Aftermath of the Vietnam War
Product Code: P347
ISBN: 9780865549883
Product Format: Paperback
Availability: Not currently available. (Backorder policy)
Price: $15.00
Based on the life and tragic death of a veteran from our country’s twenty-five-year involvement in Southeast Asia, this novella explores friendship, sailing, and the Vietnam War. This is an unforgettable story.

Washed in the Blood
By author: Lisa Alther
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H832
ISBN: 9780881462579
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: In stock
Price: $26.00
This unique three-part novel assumes that, regardless of what Americans learn in school, the Southeast was not a barren wilderness when the English arrived at Jamestown. Based on extensive research into the racial mixing that occurred in the early years of southeastern settlement, this provocative multigenerational story shows that these people did not simply vanish. You will not be able to put this novel down without wondering, “Where will it take me next?”

What Will You Do For An Encore? and Other Stories
By author: Robert Drake
Product Code: P147
ISBN: 9780865545236
Product Format: Paperback
Availability: Not currently available. (Backorder policy)
Price: $19.95

Where the Souls Go
By author: Ann Hite
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P513
ISBN: 9780881465389
Availability: In stock
Price: $17.00
WHERE THE SOULS GO is Ann Hite’s third novel set in Black Mountain, North Carolina. Readers who loved GHOST ON BLACK MOUNTAIN, Hite’s first novel, will find many of the characters familiar. This book follows three generations of the Pritchard family, not only telling the story of how Hobbs Pritchard became the villain of Black Mountain, but highlighting women’s struggles in Appalachia, beginning in the Depression Era and ending in the mid-sixties.

Whiskey Before Breakfast: A Novel
By author: Benjy Griffith
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H766
ISBN: 9780881461237
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: In stock
Price: $24.95
A Southern page-turner, told with humor and an uncanny ear for the Southern idiom. It presents a motley cast of Middle Georgia originals caught up in the struggles of the Great Depression. Thirteen-year-old Newt and his friend Jefferson, will remind some readers of Huck Finn and Jim. Newt's father decides to move into rival territory with his moonshine business, sending Jefferson, an alcoholic who will work for whiskey, along with Newt, who will sell the moonshine and protect the money. But this story is one that will linger with the reader long after the final pages.

You and I and Someone Else
By author: Anna Schachner
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P541
ISBN: 9780881465976
Availability: In stock
Price: $18.00
Frannie Lewis has a lot of bad history with men, starting with the first one she ever met. She’s watched her aloof father disappear in the summers to work with a traveling carnival, seen her mother grow ever more suspicious and resentful. All her life, Frannie has kept their secrets and told their stories. Now thirty-six, she remains a pawn in their longstanding marital chess game—and at this point, it has devolved into a grudge match. Even so, she longs to be a mother. Motherhood seems like a chance to reinvent what it means to be a family—to rectify her childhood, to start fresh. Still single, she isn’t sure if this will ever happen. When her father is diagnosed with cancer, she decides to have a baby on her own to encourage him to live and to please her mother, who still grieves over the baby she lost twenty-five years ago.

Zambian Text : Stories from Ngambe Mission
By author: Morris Smith
Product Code: H690
ISBN: 9780865549708
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: Not currently available. (Backorder policy)
Price: $22.00
Stories set around Ngambe Hospital Mission on the Zambezi River in the 1990s. The missionaries that visit and work in this place often are changed more than they change others, and in the process, they find something of their own self.

1 2 3 4 5