Search

Browse By Author

Author List

MUP Catalogs

MUP Book Awards

MUP Book Awards

Become a Donor

Become a Donor
Displaying 25 - 32 of 32 results
 
 
1 2 3
The Place Setting: Timeless Tastes of the Mountain South, from Bright Hope to Frog Level:Thirds
By author: Fred W. Sauceman
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H759
ISBN: 9780881461404
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: In stock
Price: $29.95
In the third and final volume of the series, The Place Setting: Timeless Tastes of the Mountain South, Fred Sauceman continues his exploration of Appalachian foodways. The book's geographical reach extends from the land of pepperoni rolls, created by Italian bakeries for coal miners in northern West Virginia, to downtown Chattanooga, Tennessee, where the Zarzour family, originally from the Middle East, has operated a Southern butter-bean-turnip-green diner since 1918.

The Proffitts of Ridgewood: An Appalachian Family’s Life in Barbecue
By author: Fred W. Sauceman
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P550
ISBN: 9780881466270
Availability: In stock
Price: $20.00
Fresh hams cook slowly for eight hours over hickory wood as smoke drifts through Bullock’s Hollow in Northeast Tennessee. It’s a smell both ancient and alluring. The technique is as old as cooking itself. Gas and electricity play no part. Wood, fire, and smoke are the elements. Pressures to modernize are constant, but labor-intensive tradition prevails at Ridgewood Barbecue near Bluff City. The restaurant has been located at the same spot since 1948, and it has been owned and operated by the Proffitt family all that time. THE PROFFITTS OF RIDGEWOOD: AN APPALACHIAN FAMILY'S LIFE IN BARBECUE, by Fred W. Sauceman, tells a story of persistence, respect for tradition, and loyalty to the land.

Through the Back Door: Melungeon Literacies and Twenty-First Century Technologies
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P387
ISBN: 9780881461503
Product Format: Paperback
Availability: In stock
Price: $22.00
Just a century ago, while specialized practices such as farming, preserving food, hunting, gathering, and distilling ensured survival in the unforgiving mountain environment, most Melungeons could neither read nor write and refused to see those skills as part of a cultural imperative. In the twenty-first century, taking reading and writing for granted, Melungeon descendants are exploring their ethnic identity by creating websites and participating in listserv discussions.

Through the Needle’s Eye
By author: Linda Bledsoe
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P581
ISBN: 9780881467024
Availability: In stock
Price: $17.00
THROUGH THE NEEDLE'S EYE is told through the authentic voice of Jessie, a precocious girl raised in the Blue Ridge Foothills of Southern Appalachia after World War II. Saddled with an alcoholic narcissistic father and a passive mother, Jessie is charged with mothering her siblings as generational curses and poverty never cease to overwhelm her family. As providence would have it, Granny Isabelle sets her eagle eye upon Jessie, the child neither parents nor teachers think worthwhile.

Walking Toward the Sunset : The Melungeons of Appalachia
By author: Winkler
Product Code: P250
ISBN: 9780865548695
Product Format: Paperback
Availability: In stock
Price: $19.00
Walking toward the Sunset is a historical examination of the Melungeons, a mixed-race group predominantly in southern Appalachia. Author Wayne Winkler reviews theories about the Melungeons, compares the Melungeons with other mixed-race groups, and incorporates the latest scientific research to present a comprehensive portrait.

Washed in the Blood
By author: Lisa Alther
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: H832
ISBN: 9780881462579
Product Format: Hardback
Availability: In stock
Price: $26.00
This unique three-part novel assumes that, regardless of what Americans learn in school, the Southeast was not a barren wilderness when the English arrived at Jamestown. Based on extensive research into the racial mixing that occurred in the early years of southeastern settlement, this provocative multigenerational story shows that these people did not simply vanish. You will not be able to put this novel down without wondering, “Where will it take me next?”

Where the Souls Go
By author: Ann Hite
Publisher: Mercer University Press
Product Code: P513
ISBN: 9780881465389
Availability: In stock
Price: $17.00
WHERE THE SOULS GO is Ann Hite’s third novel set in Black Mountain, North Carolina. Readers who loved GHOST ON BLACK MOUNTAIN, Hite’s first novel, will find many of the characters familiar. This book follows three generations of the Pritchard family, not only telling the story of how Hobbs Pritchard became the villain of Black Mountain, but highlighting women’s struggles in Appalachia, beginning in the Depression Era and ending in the mid-sixties.

Windows on the Past : The Cultural Heritage of Vardy, Hancock County Tennessee
By author: Overbay
Product Code: P299
ISBN: 9780865549500
Product Format: Paperback
Availability: In stock
Price: $25.00
Windows on the Past: The Cultural History of Vardy features oral histories and images of Melungeon life such as church gatherings and family activities by focusing on the Vardy Community School, a Presbyterian mission school, and the Vardy Community Church in and around Blackwater Creek, Newman’s Ridge, and Powell Mountain in Hancock County, Tennessee, and Lee County, Virginia.

1 2 3